Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
リサーチNAVIに戻る
Return to Research NAVI

03. 新聞記事を探す/Find Newspaper Articles: English

Description

This is a guide to find newspaper articles by theme or event of interest.
*Databases and pocket editions generally store or publish the final edition of the paper.
*Ensure you have the right newspaper name, as old newspapers and historical newspapers have often changed their names over the years.

Newspaper Article Databases (Online)

Below are some of the major databases to search for newspaper articles.
Please keep in mind that many newspaper article databases have limitation for the number of concurrent users. And please read the detail information from "Read Before Use" button of each database.

  • E-Resource Portal [Waseda Library Website]
    You can use many other useful databases by selecting "News & Newspapers" for the resource type in Advanced Search.
  • Newspapers, Periodicals [National Diet Library] (Public website)

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search [Asahi Shimbun](Library subscription database)
A Newspaper database for Asahi Shimbun.

YOMIDAS REKISHIKAN [Yomiuri Shimbun](Library subscription database)
Archival datatabase of Yomiuri Shimbun. Article texts and images from Meiji 7 (1874) to current are included.

Nikkei Telecom21 [Nihon Keizai Shimbun](Library subscription database)
Nikkei's business newspapers, Japanese company information, and who's who directory.

MAISAKU (Mainichi Shimbun Online)[Mainichi Shimbun Co.](Library subscription database)
A Newspaper database for Mainichi Shimbun

Sankei Shimbun Databases [Sankei Digital Inc.](Library subscription database)
A Newspaper database for Sankei Shimbun

PressReader [PressReader](Library subscription database)
World's newspapers. Online access to full-image versions of today's newspapers from around the world.

Factiva.com[ProQuest](Library subscription database)
Dow Jones world's news and business information

ProQuest Newspapers[ProQuest](Library subscription database)
5 Western Newspapers (New York Times, The Guardian, The Observer, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post) and 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers/periodicals from 1832 to 1953.Newspaper images and indexes archived database.

Lexis[LexisNexis](Library subscription database)
Online databases in Law and Business areas.

China Core Newspaper Databases [CNKI](Library subscription database)
The database collect more than 400 newspapers which published since 2000 in People’s Republic of China and more than 2.5 million full-text data

People's Daily[Oriprobe](Library subscription database)
A database of the People's Daily from the first number in 1946 to present.

Taiwan Nichinichi Sinpo[Transmission](Library subscription database)
Newspaper in Japanese language published in Taiwan from 1896 to 1944.

The Times Digital Archive[Gale Cengage Learning](Library subscription database)
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers[Gale Cengage Learning](Library subscription database)
Online database of the collection of 17th and 18th century English news media called "Burney Collection".

British Library Newspapers[Gale Cengage Learning](Library subscription database)
British Library Newspapers contains influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society. Selected from Biritsh Library by experts in the field. Full runs when possible. Fully text searchable.

 

===

* Some foreign language newspaper's articles within some newspaper databases be searched on WINE "Newspaper Search".
  The list of contents searchable databases on WINE "Newspaper search", please refer to the "WINE HELP".

Obtain Newspaper Articles

If you cannot obtain the article from databases, look up the location of the newspaper (or microfilm, pocket edition, or reprint edition).

Search Waseda’s collections

  • Catalog of Newspapers subscribed to by Waseda University Libraries (in Japanese only)
    ​Able to search for newspapers Waseda libraries currently subscribe to.
  • WINE [Waseda University Library Discovery Service] (Waseda University Library Website)
    Newspapers can be searched by WINE. You can search for back numbers of newspapers no longer subscribed to at the "NDL Search" given below.

Search domestic collections

When the newspaper is not available at Waseda and the full text is not accessible through Newspaper article databases, search domestic collections. You can request to visit off-campus libraries or order photocopies of newspaper articles from off-campus facilities by Interlibrary loan service

Search overseas collections

Expand your search overseas if you cannot locate the newspaper article in Japan. You can request to visit off-campus libraries or order photocopies of newspaper articles from off-campus facilities by Interlibrary loan service.  However, it takes high costs and hours compared with the domestic.

News Encyclopedias and Other References

  • Meiji News Encyclopedia [Mainichi Communications] (book)
    Taisho and Showa edition are also included. Together, these three publications compile articles from the Mainichi newspapers and others from the start of the Meiji (1868) to the 20th year of the Showa (1945).
  • Shimbun Shusei Meiji Hen’nenshi (Newspaper Collections from the Meiji Era) (book)
    Taisho Hen’nenshi and Showa Hen’nenshi are also included. These collections contain selected major articles from a number of newspapers organized by period. It is possible to look up articles by date as well as event.

Find What Newspapers are in Print

  • Zasshi Shimbun So Katarogu (Periodicals in Print) [Media Research Center] (Book, 1978-2019, Discontinued, In Japanese only)
    A compilation of domestic periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in print with their basic information, category, and features. Newspapers can be looked up by region, field, or title.