Journal articles and academic papers are essential to learning activities and research. Recently, the number of journal articles and academic papers that can be read online is increasing. Please make the most of the various databases and electronic journals to which Waseda University Library subscribes.
In addition to printed journals, Waseda subscribes to many electronic journals that can be read online. You can search them on WINE not only by journal title but also by title of single article. Please select “Articles” for the search profile, after you enter search words in the search window on WINE.
By using WINE, you can also search academic articles which are open to the public on Waseda University Repository.
WINE (Waseda University Library Discovery Service) (Waseda Library Web site)
It is the search service (Discovery) that can search library collections and e-resources (databases, online journals & e-books) at the same time.
Listed below are some of the major databases to search for papers and articles written in Japanese. To access the other databases, click “Advanced Search” in Find Databases column in Waseda E-Resource Portal. Then you can narrow down the list of databases by academic field or by resource type.
CiNii Research [National Institute of Informatics] (public Web site)
It allows cross-searching of list of works, external collaborating institutions, research data from institutional repositories and information on KAKEN.
JDream III [G-Search] (Library subscription database)
JST document retrieval system for academic and medical fields.
MAGAZINEPLUS [Nichigai Associates] (Library subscription database)
Magazine article information and society annual report information.
Web OYA-bunko [Oya Soichi Library] (Library subscription database)
Magazine article index that centers on popular magazine.
Zasshikiji Sakuin Shusei Database [Kouseisha] (Library subscription database)
The Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present Provided by Kouseisha.
The following databases cover English-Language papers and articles in a wide range of fields. To access the other databases, click “Advanced Search” in Find Databases column in Waseda E-Resource Portal. Then you can narrow down the list of databases by academic field or by resource type.
Web of Science [Clarivate Analytics] (Library subscription database)
Bibliographic information and cited references across all disciplines.
Scopus [Elsevier] (Library subscription database)
Abstract and citation database covering scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature. 23 million patent records from 5 patent office.
ABI/INFORM Complete [ProQuest] (Library subscription database)
Full-text database of journals and news papers in business, management, finance, trade, and industry.
Business Source Premier [EBSCOhost] (Library subscription database)
The scholarly business database, providing the collection of bibliographic and full text content.
PubMed＠WASEDA [United States National Library of Medicine(NLM)] (public Web site)
ALL areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. You can use E-journals subscribed by Waseda University.
Google Scholar (public Web site)
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Journals are published under the same title continuously at periodic or odd intervals, and every issue is given with unique volume/number. A single journal generally contains various articles or papers. To find a specific article or paper, you need its bibliography. In cases that you cannot access the full text of the article online, find out where the printed edition is located by using libraries’ catalogs after identifying the journal's title and its volume/number which contains the article.
** The following information are needed to find academic papers: author(s) of the paper, the paper’s title, the journal name, publication year, volume and number, page numbers. **
| （ex：Japanese journal） 永田治樹. ライブラリーコンソーシアムの歴史と現状. 情報の科学と技術. 1997, 47(11), pp.566-573. |
| （ex：Foreign journal） Kobayashi A.; Ohara-Takada A.; Tsuda S.; et al. Breeding of potato variety "Inca-no-hitomi" with a very high carotenoid content. Breeding Science. 2008, 58(1), pp.77-82. |
If the journal is not available at Waseda, please check whether it is held by Keio University. Waseda students and faculty can visit Keio libraries and also request the photocopies of the article from Keio on favorable conditions. You can search collections of Waseda and Keio at once by selecting “Library Catalog and E-Resources (SOKEI*)” for the search profile on WINE.
*SOKEI is abbreviation of “Waseda & Keio” in Japanese.
KOSMOS [Keio University] (public Web site)
It is the search service (Discovery) that can search library collections and e-resources (databases, online journals & e-books) at the same time.
If the material you are looking for is not held by either Waseda or Keio, you can search the collections of other libraries in Japan. Waseda can request the use of the material to off-campus libraries on your behalf.
CiNii Books [National Institute of Informatics] (public Web site)
Includes information on books and journals held in university libraries in Japan. The materials in Waseda University Libraries are not searchable with this database. Try to use our library catalog WINE.
NDL Search [National Diet Library] (public Web site)
NDL Search allows you to search for printed and digital material held by National Diet Library, request for browsing or copying, and use various other services. You can also search for materials held by Japanese libraries which has data linked with National Diet Library.
J-GLOBAL [Japan Science and Technology Agency] (public Web site)
A database for searching a wide range of researcher information, scientific and technical literature information, patent information, chemical substance information.
If the journal or magazine you are looking for is not available in Japan, you can request the photocopy of the material from overseas libraries. Please note that getting photocopies from overseas libraries is more expensive and takes more time than from libraries in Japan.
WorldCat.org [OCLC] (public Web site)
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Explore the British Library [British Library] (public Web site)
It is the search service (Discovery) that can serch British Library collecions and e-resources at the same time.