Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

28. 中国語資料を探す/Find Chinese Materials: English

Description

This guide introduces useful tools for looking up Chinese books, journals and other materials.

Search Collections in Japan

  • WINE [Japanese and English] (Library Web site)
    Waseda University Library Catalog.
  • CiNii Books [Japanese and English] (public Web site)
    A bibliographic database of books and periodicals held at university libraries across Japan.
  • NDL-OPAC [Japanese and English] (public Web site)
    A system for searching materials of the National Diet Library.
  • Online Catalog of Japan External Trade Organization [Japanese and English] (public Web site)
    An integrated system for searching materials held by the IDE- Library and Business Library, JETRO.
  • Toyo Bunko Online Catalog [Japanese and English] (public Web site)
    A system for searching books held by the Toyo Bunko (a research library specializing in Oriental studies).

Search Overseas Collections

Find Journals and Newspaper Articles

  • Bibliography of Oriental Studies on the web [Japanese] (public Web site)
    A bibliographic database provided by the Center for Informatics in East Asian Studies, Institute for Research in Humanities, Kyoto University.
  • China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) [simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and English] (Library subscription database)
    You can search for journals and newspapers published in China. You can browse the full text of the specific fields that Waseda subscribes to.
  • Chinese Bibliographic Database (JSTChina) [Japanese] (public Web site)
    A database provided by the China Research and communication Center of the Japan Science and Technology (JST) Agency. You can Search for some scientific and technical materials published in China.
  • Bao kan zi liao suo yin[simplified Chinese] (journal)
    A directory for journals and newspaper articles published in China.
  • Index to Taiwan periodical literature system[traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    You can search for articles published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau since 1970.

Find Theses and Dissertations

Find Statistics

  • National Bureau of Statistics of China [simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    This site contains statistical data published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China.
  • China Statistical Yearbook [simplified Chinese and English] (book)
    A statistical yearbook compiled by the National Bureau of Statistics of China. Contains various statistical data like population and energy for each province, territory and direct-controlled municipality.
  • China Information Handbook [Japanese] (book)
    Contains various statistical data and feature articles about current year's China.
  • China Data File [Japanese] (book)
    A statistical yearbook compiled by the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) based on the China Statistical Yearbook.
  • Census and Statistics Department [simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    This site contains statistical data published by the Census and Statistics Department, Hong Kong.
  • National Statistics, Republic of China [traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    This site contains statistical data published by the Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics, Executive Yuan, Taiwan.
  • Statistical Yearbook of the Republic of China [English] (book)
    A statistical yearbook compiled by the Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics, Executive Yuan, Taiwan.
  • Zhonghua min guo jing ji nian jian [traditional Chinese] (book)
    A statistical yearbook focusing on the Taiwan’s economy compiled by the Taiwan Economic News.

Find Government-Issued Information

  • The Central People’s Government of the People’s Republic of China Official Web Portal [simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    You can search and view like laws, personnel affairs and official bulletins issued by the China government.
  • GovHK [simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    You can search and view various information issued by the Hong Kong government.
  • My E Government [traditional Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    You can search and view various information issued by the Taiwan government. Statics information and so on are available from "News release" at the bottom of top page. 

Other Useful Tools

  • Xin hua zi dian [simplified Chinese] (book)
    The must-have dictionary for learners of Chinese. Useful for looking up the Pinyin and meaning.
  • CNKI Translation Assistant [simplified Chinese and English] (public Web site)
    Online English-Chinese/Chinese-English dictionary.
  • Zhongguo da bai ke quan shu (di er ban) [simplified Chinese] (book)
    A comprehensive Chinese encyclopedia published in 2009, divided into many subject volumes.
  • Science Portal China [Japanese] (public Web site)
    A site about science and technology in China by the Japan Science and Technology Agency. The latest science and technology news, statistical yearbooks, and survey reports of China are introduced. A database of academic research papers on China (including humanities and social sciences) is also available.