The central government, the prefectures, and local municipalities make use of statistical data as key indices to plot the future direction of policies and initiatives. There are two types of statistics: primary statistics (base statistics) drawn from primary data, and secondary statistics (derived statistics) consisting of indices and other parameters derived from primary statistics. Statistics cover a wide variety of field, and there are many field-specific statistical publications. This guide introduces some of the largest statistical references and databases to help you search through the maze of statistical information available.
Nihon Tōkei Nenkan (Japan Statistical Yearbook) [Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau] (book)(In Japanese Only)
This is the basic statistics book which attracted every statistics about Japan comprehensively. It includes 670 different kinds of statistical charts, and fields are divided into chapters. The index provides about 5,000 keywords in both English and Japanese. Charts from the most recent edition can be downloaded from the Statistics Bureau’s website.
Nihon no Tōkei(Japan Statistics) [Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau] (book)(In Japanese Only)
This compact edition includes the key basic statistics selected from the Japan Statistical Yearbook. Charts from the most recent edition can be downloaded from the Statistics Bureau’s website.
Tōkei de Miru Nihon (Japan Seen Through Statistics) [Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau] (book)(In Japanese Only）
Using charts and other devices, this reference explains various fields connected with Japanese citizen’s wellbeing, such as territorial, economic, and social fields.
Nihon Toshi Nenkan(Municipal Year Book of Japan) [Japan Association of City Mayors] (book)(In Japanese Only）
This statistical reference tabulates studies by the Japan Association of City Mayors and includes survey materials from related government bodies and other organizations. The 23 wards of Tokyo are also considered to be a single city, and data for this city are listed as Tokyo (23 wards).
Nihon Chōki Tōkei Sōran (Historical statistics of Japan)[Nihon Tōkei Kyōkai & Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau] (book)(In Japanese Only）
Includes various long-term statistics from Meiji to Heisei era. The new edition is 5 Volumes.
Nihon Kokusei Zue (The State of Japan) （book)(In Japanese Only）
This statistical document provides numerical values, charts, and clear explanations of various Japanese statistics, such as Japan’s territory, national defense, and the Japan Self-Defense Force. Sources are given for each chart, which can be used to find more detailed information.
Dēta de Miru Kensei: Nihon Kokusei Zue Chiiki Tōkeiban (Regional Power Seen in Data: The Regional Edition of the State of Japan) [Yano Tsuneta Kinenkai] (book)(In Japanese Only）
This is the regional edition of the Nihon Kokusei Zue. The preface contains information on the administrative mergers and realignments of municipalities. It also offers regional statistics not published in the NihonKokusei Zue with finer prefectural and municipal divisions.
JapanKnowledge Lib (Library subscription database)
This database provides "Nihon Tōkei Nenkan," "Nihon Chōki Tōkei Sōran," and "Nihon Kokusei Zue."
Prefectural Statistical Online [J-DAC] (Library subscription database)
The most exhaustive statistical resource on the history of Japan between Meiji and Post-War Showa.
Portal Site of Official Statistics of Japan (e-Stat) [National Statistics Center] (public Web site)
This is a portal site of government statistics for Japan statistics. This portal site for government statistics began operation in 2008 based on the Plan to Optimize Operations and Systems for Statistical Studies and Similar Operations, drafted by the Ministerial CIO Liaison Group. Using the site, you can access various statistical data from government ministries, official plans, recent information, questionnaire information, and other statistical references.
Website of the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau [Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau] (public Web site)
This site devoted to statistics is operated jointly by the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Statistics Bureau, the Director-General for Policy Planning (Statistical Standards), and the Statistical Research and Training Institute. You can download various data sets such as population censuses, family income and expenditure surveys, and the Japan Statistical Yearbook.
Public Opinion Polls [Cabinet Office] (public Web site)(In Japanese Only）
The Cabinet Office conducts public opinion polls to ascertain the public’s opinion on government policies. Survey interviewers visit and interview several thousand people selected statistically from across Japan. This site consolidates data from these polls.
Research NAVI: Statistics [National Diet Library] (public Web site)
The contents of this site consist of Reference Tools for searching for statistical data. Long-term Statistics, Comprehensive statistics exhaustively covering all areas, summarized statistics in selected areas limited to certain categories, and a wide variety of Primary Statistical Data.
Hakusho Tokei Sakuin (Index to White Paper Statistics) [Nichigai Associates] (book)(In Japanese Only）
This is an index for finding statistical data, such as charts and graphs, contained in 104 kinds of white papers issued domestically. The index contains 16,676 white papers, from both government organizations and private-sector organizations.