The purpose of the Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research program (KAKENHI) is to promote original and pioneering research in all fields — from the humanities and social sciences to the natural sciences — to stimulate scholarship in Japan since 1936. Research grants are administered by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS).
There are three basic types of required reports in Grant-in-Aid research categories.
This is a yearly report with data on the progress of an ongoing research project. The report includes an overview of the research progress over the reported year and a list of publications and literature generated by the research project.
This is a report that summarizes the overall results of the research project in the final year of the research’s term. The categories obligated to submit this report vary from year to year.
This report is created only for research in research categories requiring a final report. The report contains an overview of the research findings and lists the publications and literature generated by the research project which is conducted for several years.
※Since 2008, researchers (in most but not all research categories) have been submitting final reports to the MEXT or the JSPS in electronic formats instead of paper formats. Full texts of final reports are viewable on the Internet at Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research (KAKENHI) Database.
Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research (KAKENHI) Database [National Institute of Informatics] (Library subscription database)
This database includes: the initial information at the time of adoption (Adopted Projects); summaries of research outputs (Research-status Report, Annual Research Report, and Final Research Report Summary); Final Research Report; and Self-evaluation Report.Detailed information on a specific research topic can be found through a variety of search options. Research projects can also be searched by keyword or subject.
Waseda University Library Discovery Service (WINE) (Waseda Library Web site)
It is the search service (Discovery) that can search library collections and e-resources (databases, online journals & e-books) at the same time.
・<Search by Grant-in-Aid number:>
Grant-in-Aid projects were assigned six-digit numbers until 1980 and eight-digit numbers after. Click on "Advanced Search" in WINE, select "All fields" in the search filter from "Other identifiers and numbers", and enter "*****" and the Grant-in-Aid number to search.
・<Search by title or author:>
Enter a phrase such as “Waseda University” or “早稲田大学” and “Grant-in-Aid” or “科学研究費補助金” in the search window.
NDL SEARCH [National Diet Library] (public Web site)
The National Diet Library Kansai-kan stores final reports through the affiliated organization (university, etc.) of the Principle Investigator (PI) before 2007. (Reports made in 2008 and after are viewable in KAKEN.) In NDL-OPAC, check “Books” from Material Types on the Advanced Search page and then search as follows:
CiNii Books [National Institute of Informatics] (public Web site)
You can search for Grant-in-Aid reports held by Japanese university libraries from this site. For the Advanced Search, enter “Grant-in-Aid”or “科学研究費補助金” in the Title box, the principal investigator’s name in the Author box, and the investigator’s institution in the Publisher box. Each university treats Grant-in-Aid reports differently: some universities do make reports publically available. In some cases you will find the research projects and annual reports but not the final report. It may be that the research project is still active or that the final report has not yet been submitted.
Gakujutsu Nenkan (Scholarship Yearbook) [Waseda University] (books)
Carries records of individual research activities by Waseda researchers and lists of related publications and papers from 1984 to 2000. It is also possible to view lists of Grant-in-Aid research projects by year. (In Japanese Only)
Waseda University Researcher Database (Waseda University Web site)
The database includes, in principle, data on research activities of researchers at Waseda University.
When the results of research funded by Grant-in-Aid are published, note of the fact is always added in their WINE bibliography notes. You can find these publications using a phrase like “研究成果公開促進費 (Grant-in-Aid for Publication of Scientific Research Results)” in the search window.