When researching foreign law, one must understand the target country’s political system, culture, history, etc. When researching American Law, consult dictionaries or briefs when needed.
Databases help search for case law at the federal or state level. If you know the case citation, you can find specific cases more efficiently. Case citation is an essential tool when searching for case law. Citations follow specific rules. For example, the “Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U.S. 483 (1954)” citation includes, in order, the name of the parties, the report’s volume, the reporter’s abbreviation, the first page of the case, and the year. Databases also allow for searches using the Docket Number or topic.
アメリカ・英米法圏の法律・判例・ローレビュー等の法律関連データベース。世界各国のニュース、人物情報、知的財産権、企業情報なども収録
Online databases in Law and Business areas.
Users can search by source name, citation, term, or topic. Furthermore, users can specify one or multiple categories, including cases, statutes, secondary materials, briefs, administrative codes, etc. In addition, users can also search by jurisdiction and court name, both for federal and state courts. Advanced search can be found by pressing the “More Options” button under the search bar. Advanced search allows you to search by practice area or consult previously saved favorite results.
欧米の総合法律情報検索
General American law database. Include information on cases, statutes, and news.
◎自宅など学外からのご利用について：
ほかの大学契約データベースと異なり、学外からWestlawNextを利用される際は学外アクセスにログインせずに、
このページにある「データベースにログイン/Access Database」ボタンをクリックしてお使いください。
学外アクセスにログインしている場合は一旦ログインアウトしてください。
URLに「waseda.idm.oclc.org」が含まれていないことをご確認ください。
Under standard search, users can search by term, citation, database, etc., and specify federal or state jurisdictions. Advanced search allows using connectors and expanders to include or exclude search terms.Consult the training page for more information.
Free database maintained by Thomson Reuters containing case law and statutes.
If you know the case citation, you can look it up in the printed version of the case reports in the sources presented below. For example, 171 L.Ed.2d 570 means United States Supreme Court reports, Lawyers’ Edition, second edition. 171 is the volume number, and 570 is the page number.
Legal dictionary on the abbreviations used in case citations. Permits reverse lookup.
A reference book on how to quote and cite sources in legal writing. Focus on American Law but includes citation styles for foreign sources.
Unofficial court reports of Supreme Court cases published by Lexis Nexis. It covers Supreme Court case law dating back to 1790. It contains comments on some cases and usually publishes decisions faster than the official reporter.
Federal case law reporter from West. Covers Supreme Court opinions from 1882 to the present. Contains headnotes and synopses. PDF files can be accessed via Westlaw Next.
Case law history can be searched using Shepardize (Lexis Advance), KeyCite, and Negative Treatment tab (Westlaw Next). Likewise, Shepardize’s Shepard’s Signal and KeyCite allow users to check a specific decision’s validity.
Federal law can be found in the United States Statute at Large or private publishers’ compilation by area of law, the latter usually including commentary. Like case law, statutes can be found using citations or indexes. Statute citations for federal law are as follows: P.L. 101-380 or 101 PL 380 (Public Law 380 of the 101st session of Congress). Other citation styles are 104 Stat. 484（Statutes at Large volume 104 page 484）and 33 USCA 2701（United States Code Title 33、Chapter 2701）.
アメリカ・英米法圏の法律・判例・ローレビュー等の法律関連データベース。世界各国のニュース、人物情報、知的財産権、企業情報なども収録
Online databases in Law and Business areas.
When looking for statutes, use the "Statutes & Legislation" option in the search bar. In addition, the "Statutes & Legislation" under the "Explore Content" menu redirects to a search page with a dedicated search bar and links to federal, tribal, and state laws. Results provide access to the full text of the selected provision, references in other laws, and archived versions. Shepard’s comprehensive report also includes a list of decisions quoting the specified provisions.
欧米の総合法律情報検索
General American law database. Include information on cases, statutes, and news.
◎自宅など学外からのご利用について：
ほかの大学契約データベースと異なり、学外からWestlawNextを利用される際は学外アクセスにログインせずに、
このページにある「データベースにログイン/Access Database」ボタンをクリックしてお使いください。
学外アクセスにログインしている場合は一旦ログインアウトしてください。
URLに「waseda.idm.oclc.org」が含まれていないことをご確認ください。
The standard search allows users to search by term, citation, database, etc., and specify federal or state jurisdictions. In addition, the “Browse” window list provides links to “Statutes & Court Rules” and “Regulation.” Users can browse this information for federal statutes under “Federal Materials” and state statutes under “State Materials.” Results provide the full text of the provision, notes on decisions, history, citing references, and context and analysis.
Official records of laws and resolutions passed during a specific session of Congress. Prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register.
Monthly publication of certain collections of congressional and administrative materials, including the full text of federal laws, certain committee reports, federal regulations, presidential signing statements and proclamations, and executive orders, amongst other documents, from 1948 to the present. （Waseda has copies of the annual versions）.
Multivolume set containing annotated legislative history materials, including committee reports, congressional journals, and bill tracking information relevant to specific provisions. It also lists relevant judicial decisions, laws, scholarly works, and other materials. Published by Thomson Reuters under the Thomson West brand.
Scholarly papers published in law reviews (academic journals focused on legal issues) are helpful when researching a specific topic, case law, or statute.
アメリカ・英米法圏の法律・判例・ローレビュー等の法律関連データベース。世界各国のニュース、人物情報、知的財産権、企業情報なども収録
Online databases in Law and Business areas.
Law journals can be found in the “Secondary Materials” under the search bar. The “Secondary Materials” button under the “Explore Content” window redirects to a page with multiple material types, including “Law Reviews and Journals.”
Consult the Find Law Review and Journal Articles on the Lexis page for more information.
欧米の総合法律情報検索
General American law database. Include information on cases, statutes, and news.
◎自宅など学外からのご利用について：
ほかの大学契約データベースと異なり、学外からWestlawNextを利用される際は学外アクセスにログインせずに、
このページにある「データベースにログイン/Access Database」ボタンをクリックしてお使いください。
学外アクセスにログインしている場合は一旦ログインアウトしてください。
URLに「waseda.idm.oclc.org」が含まれていないことをご確認ください。
The “Secondary Sources” button under the “All Content” tab redirects to a page with multiple links to secondary sources, including “Law Reviews & Journals.” The “Law Reviews & Journals” page lists over one thousand academic publications.
アメリカの法学分野の主要定期刊行物, 国連刊行物コレクション, イギリスの初期判例集などのフルイメージ
Full-text page-image (PDF) format : Law Journal Library , United Nations Law Collection,
English Reports.
Lists old publications not found in Lexis Advance or Westlaw Next.
Since indexes usually contain topics or themes, citations are effective when looking for related documents or publications.
A list of current legal periodicals can be accessed via WestlawNext or HeinOnline.
In the WestlawNext top page, select the “Secondary Sources” button from the “All Content” window. Then, to the right, under the “Tools & Resources” menu, select the “Current Index to Legal Periodicals.” On the next page, select “Law Reviews & Journals” to be redirected to a specialized search page.
After login into HeinOnline, select the “Law Journal” option from the “All Databases” dropdown menu next to the HeinOnline icon to redirect to the journal search page that allows for searches by title, topics, keywords, etc.
Printed index to law journals published in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
The American Association of Law Libraries publishes information regarding law journals in English for international law, comparative law, or non-common law jurisdictions.