01. 図書を探す／Find Books: English

First, use WINE (Waseda University Library Discovery Services) to check whether Waseda has the books or resources you need. WINE indexes such as books, periodicals, audio and visual materials, doctoral dissertations approved by Waseda University, and electronic resources (databases, e-journals and e-books).

• [ WINE >> WINE User's Guide >> What's Included? ]
• WINE [Waseda University Library Discovery Service] (Waseda Library Web site)

Using WINE

  WINE has several search methods:
    1) Enter search words in the search window.
    2) Select and click the search profile.
    3) Select the materials you want to use from the search results list.

• [ WINE >> WINE User's Guide >> WINE Quick Guide ]

If you cannot find the book you need in Waseda, try to search the collections held by Keio University. Since Waseda has a corporative agreement with Keio, Waseda students and faculty members can visit Keio University libraries or make a request for ILL (Interlibrary Loan) service on favorable conditions than others.

• Using Keio University Library (Waseda Library Web site)
• KOSMOS（Keio University）(Keio Library Web site)

If the book you are looking for is not found in neither Waseda nor Keio, try to search collections of other libraries in Japan. Waseda Library will issue an introduction letter for using off-campus library. You can also aks to make a request for sending materials to Waseda by ILL (Interlibrary Loan) service.

• ＊Using non-Waseda Libraries (Waseda Library Web site)
• 　　Information about visiting other libraries with a letter of introduction and libraries which has cooperative agreements.
• ＊Interlibrary Loans (ILL) (Waseda Library Web site)
  　　Information about requesting books and materials by Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
•  
• CiNii Books - 大学図書館の本をさがす [National Institute of Informatics] (Public Web site)
• Includes information on books and journals held in university libraries in Japan. The materials in Waseda University Libraries are not searchable with this database. Try to use our library catalog WINE.
• 
  国立国会図書館サーチ ／ NDL Search [National Diet Library] (Public Web site)
• NDL Search allows you to search for printed and digital material held by National Diet Library, request for browsing or copying, and use various other services. You can also search for materials held by Japanese libraries which has data linked with National Diet Library.
• 
  東京都立図書館ウェブサイト ／ Website of Tokyo Metoropolitan Library (Public Web site)
• This Library system promotes library services in two libraries; The Central Library and the Tama Library. To search through the holdings of the public libraries in Tokyo, please use "Tokyo Metoropolitan Library : Cross-OPAC Search -"

If the book you are looking for is not available in Japan, you can request to send the actual material/photocopies from overseas libraries. But note that requesting materials/photocopies from overseas libraries is more expensive and takes more time than from domestic libraries. Please ask at the Reference Desk in the libraries for more information.

• ＊Using non-Waseda Libraries (Waseda Library Web site)
  　　Information about visiting other libraries with a letter of introduction and libraries which has cooperative agreements.
• ＊Interlibrary Loans (ILL) (Waseda Library Web site)
  　　Information about requesting books and materials by Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
•  
• WorldCat.org [OCLC] (Public Web site)
• WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
• 
  Explore the British Library [British Library] (Public Web site)
• It is the search service (Discovery) that can serch British Library collecions and e-resources at the same time.
• 
  Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog [KVK] (Public Web site)
• KVK is a meta search engine for more than 500 million books and other media in library and book trade catalogues worldwide. 

You can submit a purchase request to Waseda library, or purchase the materials on your own. The following websites are useful for obtaining publication and related information.

• Books.or.jp [Japan Book Publishers Association] (Public Web site) (in Japanese only)
• A website for searching currently available publications issued in Japan (about 900,000 items).
• 日本の古本屋（Nihon-no Furuhonya）/ Old Book Database Search [Japanese Association of Dealers in Old Books] (Public Web site) (in Japanese only)
• Able to search and purchase books and materials in used book stores around Japan. Able to search both books and used book stores.
• Amazon.co.jp (Public Web site)

If you haven’t decided which book to read, you can specify the book by using keyword search or other search method. Try to use the website below. Recently, there are many databases that you can browse the digitized books for free.

• Webcat Plus [National Institute of Informatics] (Public Web site) (in Japanese only)
• Bibliographic, content, and location information for books and journals.
• 
  国立国会図書館デジタルコレクション ／ National Diet Library Digital Collections [National Diet Library] (Public Web site)
• The NDL Digital Collections enables a user to search and view a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan. Materials marked "Available only at the NDL and partner libraries" are available within the Central Library. NDL digitized materials transmission service(in Japanese only)
• 
  Hathi Trust Digital Library (Public Web site)
• Digital library by Hathi Trust
• 
  Internet Archive : Wayback Machine (Public Web site)
• Huge archive of web site, over 150 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. It also archives many other types of items like moving images, audio, texts and etc.
• 
  Gallica Digital Library [National Library of France] (Public Web site)
• Digital library by Bibliotheque national de France
• 
  Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (Public Web site)
• A virtual library with which you can access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage from all over Germany.

[ Waseda Library Web Site >> Research NAVI >> 07. Using Digital Resources ]

[NDL Research Navi >> Digital Archives of Cultural Institutions in Asia]

[NDL Research Navi >> Digital Archives of Cultural Institusions in Europe (Japanese Only) ]