Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
リサーチNAVIに戻る
Return to Research NAVI

18. 教科書・教師用指導書を探す/Find Textbooks and Instruction Manuals: English

Description

A guide to finding textbooks, instruction manuals for teachers, and government course guidelines.

Find Approved Textbooks at Waseda

The School Library of the School of Education and the School of Education’s Student Reading Room both hold approved textbooks. These textbooks can be located with WINE. These materials can only be used in the libraries and cannot be checked out.

Collection at the School Library of the School of Education

・Elementary school textbooks

Current textbooks only for Japanese, social studies, arithmetic, science, life sciences, music, art, home studies, and physical education

・Junior high school textbooks

Textbooks from post-WWII to today for Japanese, social studies, mathematics, science, English, health and physical education; current textbooks only for

・High school textbooks

Textbooks from post-WWII to today for Japanese, social studies, mathematics, science, health and physical education, English, commerce,

from 1962 to today for calligraphy,

from 1994 to today for nursing,

from 1997 to today for home studies,

from 2003 to today for  music, art, agriculture, industry, fisheries ,social welfare and information

 

○Collection at the School of Education’s Student Reading Room

The School of Education’s Student Reading Room also has current textbooks for elementary schools, junior high schools, and high schools.

WINE Search Tips: Search Using Subject Names

WINE

One quick way to find approved textbooks on WINE is to do a keyword search using the subject name and the word “検定済(approved)”(Example 1). If there are too many hits, you can narrow down the results by adding the year of approval (Example 2).

Example 1: “世界史(world history)” and “検定済(approved)”

Example 2: “世界史(world history)” and “検定済(approved)” and “昭和33(1958)”

WINE Search Tips: Search Using Textbook Numbers

To find approved textbooks using textbook numbers, select Search by OTHER INDEXES and Other Numbers on WINE. Enter the textbook number as “KYO textbook number” following the instructions on the screen.

Example 1: KYO 国II001 (symbols like hyphens and slashes are generally omitted)

Example 2: KYO 高社10-1010 (hyphens are only entered to separate numbers)

Databases for Finding Textbooks

  • The following databases are useful for finding textbooks.

    Catalog of Textbooks Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (public Web site) (in Japanese only)

    A catalog of textbooks currently in use.

    Japan Textbook Research Center’s Textbook Library Database (public Web site)

    Tokyo Gakugei University Library’s Mochizuki Bunko Database (public Web site) (in Japanese only)

    The collection is about teachers’ education. The earliest textbooks known in Japan (ouraimono), textbook for elementary education, textbooks for primary education on Colony, Western countries published after the beginning of Meiji era, are available on database as visualized forms.

    Tosho Bunko (public Web site) (in Japanese only)

    Hold systematic collection of textbooks published from the end of Edo era until the latest edition.

    Hiroshima University Library Textbook Collection (public Web site)

    The collection contains images from about 5,600 textbooks from the earliest textbooks known in Japan (ouraimono) to 1951.
     

Find Instruction Manuals for Teachers at Waseda

The School Library of the School of Education has two or three instruction manuals for teachers at the elementary school, junior high school, and high school levels for each subject mentioned above. These instruction manuals can be located with WINE. These materials can only be used in the libraries and cannot be checked out.

WINE

Find the Courses of Study (Government Course Guidelines)

The Courses of Study are published on the following sites.

Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (public Web site)

The Courses of Study (provisional translation): Elementary school/ Junior high school/ High school/,

The revisions of the Courses of Study.

National Information Center for Educational Resources (public Web site) (in Japanese only)

Provides past Courses of Study.